need help with supercharger | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

need help with supercharger

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Hi, I'm a newbie here. I have a 93 explorer 4.0L OHV that I want to supercharge under a $1,000. I would appreciate any advice that I can get to do this mod. Thanks

I don't mean to be discouraging in any way. But to supercharge our engine for under 1000? You would have to get a deal of a century. I'm personally looking into turbocharging my engine. I feel that I can do it cheaper and still getting HP out of it.

Good luck with it.

Good luck with the project! The only thing is...I think it will run more than 1k. If that's your limit, I would look at other things, such as intake and exhaust w/tuning.

Good luck with the project! The only thing is...I think it will run more than 1k. If that's your limit, I would look at other things, such as intake and exhaust w/tuning.

I didn't even think of posting about that Charlie. This is true, if you're going to run a supercharger, you might want to work on teh engine/exhaust first. Make sure the engine can handle the supercharger, and also make sure the exhaust doesn't restrict at all.

How much do superchargers cost? How about Turbo?

Turbo is a lot more efficient, but likely more expensive.

welcome aboard

How much do superchargers cost? How about Turbo?

Turbo is a lot more efficient, but likely more expensive.

it really all depends on where you go.

for a first generation, you'll have to put together your own supercharger. someone here has done it before, but it's a mix of parts for different vehicles, there isn't actually a kit made specifically for the explorer.