New '06 Explorer: What About HID Retrofit? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

New '06 Explorer: What About HID Retrofit?

As many of you many know, I recently upgraded the headlamps on my '98 X to HID kits (Retro-solutions) and they have transformed my older X into a great night-driving machine.

Last weekend, my wife bought and took delivery on a '06 Explorer XLT. Well wouldn't you know it, the headlamp system leaves a lot to be desired.

So I studied the manual and looked up bulb types. It uses H13/9008 for the headlamps and 9145/H10 for the fogs.

I found a kit on Retro-solutions' store for the 9008 and even the 9145 bulbs.

Now here's my question: Is there anything electronically different about the light system on the '06 that would present issues with an HID upgrade? I'm asking about OBD-related and possibly DRL issues, mainly.

There is a shield in the lamp housing that looks like it sits really close to the bulb and I wonder if this will interfere with the top of a DS10 bulb from the HID kit. Anyone put HIDs in an '06 X?

Secondary question: possibly for next year, I may also upgrade the fog lights to HID. Now here's the issue with these... they turn off when using hi-beams and flash to pass. That doesn't go well with HID due to hot-restrike issues, although the Retro-solutions kit claims to have digital electronics that gracefully handle hot restrike without damage to the bulb.

What is involved in wiring that fog lamp system so it doesn't get interrupted with high beam useage? In fact, it makes a great fill light when high beams leave a dark area nearer the vehicle, so I'd definately want them on under those conditions.

So, anyone do a HID retrofit on their '06 yet?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!