New Front Pump 5R55S = must the trans be vertical to install the new pump | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

New Front Pump 5R55S = must the trans be vertical to install the new pump

08EddieCA

Reaction score
City, State
Los Angeles, CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
08 & 03 X (Eddie B & XLS)
First, I'm not good with Transmissions. I can do the basic maintenance etc but not anything inside the trans.

I may have a bad front pump for various reasons. Biggest reason is the TC may not have been seated properly and completely however I'm 99% sure the TC is seated fully. When I pulled the engine a few weeks ago I notice trans fluid at the bottom of the bellhousing.

Since I'm pulling the engine again this weekend, I want to install a new reman pump. I also have a copy of the service manual for the trans. The book says to have the trans vertical so nothing falls out. That gave me pause. I was planning on removing the pump and reinstalling the new pump while the engine bay is empty.

The only thing I can see falling out is a bunch of tranny fluid. Can't I simply unbolt the pump, remove the pump with the appropriate pump removal tool and install the new pump?

I have a photo of the trans with the tranny fluid in the bellhousing but I can't get photobucket to move the photo over.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I will say your results will be poor with attempting this repair.When you pull the pump you wiill pull on the OD drum and lift it off the clutches. Could even dislodge the drive plate from OD planets. The fluid in the bell can be from the breather. If trans is overfilled or overheated it will send fluid out the breather. The breather is attached to the bell housing.