New tires for 05 Expl XLT 4WD 4LV6 help!!! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

New tires for 05 Expl XLT 4WD 4LV6 help!!!

daimion

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2005 Explorer XLT 4WD
Hello all. I have a 2005 Ford Explorer XLT 4WD 4LV6. My current tires are BFgoodrich p245/65r17 105T. the tread is wearing thin and need to be replaced soon. I was wondering if anyone had suggestions on a set of tires to replace these with. i was over at tirerack and apparently these showed up as the best choice but i wanted actual 05 explorer owners input before i pull the trigger.

here is a link to the tires
http://www.firestonecompleteautocare.com/tirecatalog/Firestone/DestinationLE2/

here is the quote provided to me
http://www.firestonecompleteautocare.com/tire_pricing/quote.jsp?article=97997&qty=4

any and all help is greatly appreciated. thank you all for your time!

Hello, I work as a tech at a Ford dealership. I also have owned 3 different 2002-2005 explorers. I have mounted a ton of tires on these trucks and personally I would not pick the BFG as my first choice. Don't get me wrong, they are great tires, if you were getting some All-terrains or Mud-terrains then I would say go for it. But I imagine you are getting the rugged terrains that were O.E. on most of these. I had a set on my '02 and they were ok, but I think they look too skinny for the size, also the tread wear was just ok. I replaced them with a set of Goodyear Fortera HL which are a midgrade tire. I absolutely love these, plus I got them for about $110 each. 245/65R17. I put some Goodyear Assurance triple treads on my wife's Explorer also 17s and they are excellent so far. Tread wear on my Forteras are excellent as well. They have great traction in the snow and rain, and they look nice. My wifes tires are brand new, so no review for them yet. If you do go with the Forteras, make sure you get the black letter kind, for some reason the outline white variety was almo