New Wheels and Low Tire Pressure? | Ford Explorer - Ford Ranger Forums - Serious Explorations

  • Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

  • Holiday Special! - 2 for 1 Elite Explorer sale!

    Right now you can purchase an Elite Explorer membership for $20 and receive a two year membership! If you have an existing Elite membership contact me by PM and I will upgrade your account manually.

    Click Here to start your membership and get rid of the ads!

New Wheels and Low Tire Pressure?

reef

Member
Joined
December 18, 2013
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
City, State
Valdosta, Ga
Year, Model & Trim Level
2007 Ford Explorer
Hi so I'm assuming nig that after I put on my new wheels that the new ones done have sensors in them like stock. This doesn't bother me. However, my dash keeps displaying the "Low Tire Pressure" warning light that I'd really like to get rid of so I can keep it as clean as possible. Does anyone know of a "plug off" for the sensor or any other way of fooling it into not showing up anymore?
 


Holiday Special! Join the Elite Explorers $20 for 2 years! Gets rid of the ads!

Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




Ronin8002

Explorer Addict
Joined
March 23, 2003
Messages
4,421
Reaction score
12
City, State
Virginia
Year, Model & Trim Level
2008 XLT Ironman
Hi so I'm assuming nig that after I put on my new wheels that the new ones done have sensors in them like stock. This doesn't bother me. However, my dash keeps displaying the "Low Tire Pressure" warning light that I'd really like to get rid of so I can keep it as clean as possible. Does anyone know of a "plug off" for the sensor or any other way of fooling it into not showing up anymore?

No way to do it as far as I know, other than putting sensors in the new wheels and training them so you don't get the error.
 




4FordFamily

Been there done that
Joined
January 26, 2003
Messages
923
Reaction score
1
City, State
Fishers, IN
Year, Model & Trim Level
'16 Sport, 08, other ford
No way to do it as far as I know, other than putting sensors in the new wheels and training them so you don't get the error.

What he said. THis is very irritating and I absolutely despise TPMS.

I have them in all 3 of my Fords, regrettably.
 




Trac Marks

Well-Known Member
Joined
October 28, 2013
Messages
339
Reaction score
6
Year, Model & Trim Level
Sport Trac
Ironically the Explorer is the reason the industry has TPMS.

I've heard & read about folks putting their sensors in a pressurized piece of PVC pipe. Kind of looks like a pipebomb. I'm not sure if ours require rotation to work, so this might not be an option. Best bet is to get the sensors in the new wheels as mentioned.
 








Top