NEWB: mad PING... HELP!!! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

NEWB: mad PING... HELP!!!

rustyrotor

Reaction score
I have a 93 navajo with the 4.0 litre 6 in it... with 160k miles
I am really happy with the truck, I got it for free, and its been really good to me for the last 10k miles..

1219080908.jpg

A few months ago it started pining under load. I seafoamed it, cleaned the throttle body and did a full tuneup. this masked the problem for about a week... then it started back.

Then I started running premium in it. This fixed it for about a month, then it started pinging on 92!

the current situation is horrible.. ANY hill, or spirited acceleration will yield the WORST pining I have ever heard... it sounds like its gonna come apart....

It's also throwing some sort of code when under load... when it pings really bad the check engine light comes on..

I have run through the search and haven't found much..

I am a newb to fords, but not to cars... I am a VW guy.. and Im trying to keep this thing running until I can finish my rabbit project:
Picture-016.gif

any help yall could give me would be greatly appreciated..

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

How are you driving it? Are you babying it? Seafoam fixed the grandpa induced ping in my friends 4.0 ranger, and it's stayed gone since he drives it fairly hard. Have you checked for vacuum leaks as well?

Pull your spark plugs. Any of them whitish? I'd bet you need new intake gaskets. I had a pinging problem with my 93 Explorer. Changed intake gaskets and no more pinging, none! I could feel the engine ran smoother and with more pep. Also gained 2mpg. It's a very common problem on 93 4.0 V6's.