Newbie assistance | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Newbie assistance

vjz

Reaction score
Hello all

I am new to Explorer world.

I decided I need an SUV that canb suit my needs

I landed at either the Grand Cherokee or the Explorer.

I have owned a few Jeeps, but never a Ford. So, I am familiar with the 5.2 V8 and the 4.0L Jeep U6.

Obviously, I know many of you are biased about which SUV is better, and I understand that.

I just need some help in decided where I want to go.

I don't really want to off-road. I wouldn't mind a small lift with some newer Explorer wheels for the look though

However, I do want amenities. So, the Eddie Bauer is what I am looking at. I found a Sport two door EB with 120K on the clock and heated seats with sunroof. Those are kind of important to me, so I was intrigued. It had the 4.0L 6 with 4x4 and not AWD.

Anyway, in any Explorer, what should I look for in a daily driver mindset? Reliability bits and such.

What should I expect for longevity with exceptional maintenance? I take very good care of my vehicles. Is 250,000 miles unreasonable?

Any insight on what I should look out for is helpful.

Thank you

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

They differ from year to year and model to model. there are a few drive trains offered, but in the sport, they only offered the 4.0L, both in a OHV & SOHC I believe. Both have good & bad points.

I'm sure the EB has auto everything in it. Depending on the year, they have different transmissions, and transfer cases. Also gearing varies, but 4:10 is common in a sport, but an EB might have 3:73 ratios for cruising.