Newbie has an appointment to buy his first explorer tomorrow, a little help! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Newbie has an appointment to buy his first explorer tomorrow, a little help!

fabianoliver

Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
Montevideo - Uruguay
Year, Model & Trim Level
1994 XLT
Hello all, newbie here, from Uruguay
May be tomorrow i'll buy my first explorer.

Tomorrow i'l go to take a look to the only first gen that's on sale here. They are hard to find. Manual transmission, he sais clutch is ok.
The seller sais to me that is original paint, that everything is working fine, doesn't consumes oil nor water, and has no rust....
150.000 miles
So semms a good one.
Here i post some pics.
Can someone please give me some tips, on what to look for?, some rust clasic points to look at?
Any other tip is really appreciated.
I love this truck, i hope it will be mine soon.

Thanks for your help!!

WhatsApp Image 2022-07-28 at 8.16.30 PM.jpeg WhatsApp Image 2022-07-28 at 8.16.09 PM.jpeg WhatsApp Image 2022-07-28 at 8.15.17 PM.jpeg WhatsApp Image 2022-07-28 at 8.14.42 PM.jpeg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The 91-94 Explorers are super tough. The 5 speed manual is a great choice if it's working properly. Check the fluid level, and make sure that it's not leaking from the rubber plugs at the end of the shift rails.. This manual tranmission uses red ATF, not heavy lube.

The biggest weakness of those years is the auto transmission, so no worries for you!
Other weak points are auto hubs, and shift motor on transfer case, but I have a feeling yours might be manual on both?
My 1993 truck with the 4.0 engine went for 370,000 miles with zero engine problems. They can last a very long time if you change the oil regularly.
Welcome to the forum!