Newbie here and need help regarding engine and trans swap | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Newbie here and need help regarding engine and trans swap

George12

Reaction score
City, State
Tonganoxie Kansas
Year, Model & Trim Level
95 explorer 4.0l v6
I just got a 95 explorer 4.0 liter v6 4x4. The guy i got it from says it has an engine and transmission out of a 04. It runs great and is now a 4 speed but i want to know is there a way to find out for sure what year the engine and trans came out of? Also he mentioned that i need to replace a transmission sensor. It still has the 95 sensor and needs the 04 sensor. This cause the truck to have issues shifting from 1st to 2nd. I have to let my foot off the gas to get it to shift. after that it shifts great. Any idea what sensor he is talking about. He said it mounts to the rearend

Thanks for all your help

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

hmmm weird

He is most likely talking about the vehicles speed sensor, in 95 they were in the transmission or transfer case, 98+ they are in the rear axle only

The transmission range sensor is a whole different story.
the 95 truck only came with 1 engine option, the OHV 4.0L the 04 had two engine options the SOHC 4.0L V6 or the 4.6L V8, so if you indeed have an 04 SOHC drivetrain in your 95 truck it would take about 4 seconds for us to spot it with a simple under hood picture.

Is the check engine light on?

Also 95 = OBD-I
04 = OBD-II

This would be quite a conversion! many hours of work I hope hes not pullin your chain

weird is an understatement

None of the lights are on at all. I thought about the speed sensor and when I called a dealership they told me the 04 would not fit on a 95.

What do i need to look for to determine if I have the SOHC engine?