Newbie here, just got '00 2dr Sport - milkshake included | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Newbie here, just got '00 2dr Sport - milkshake included

Bmore Xplore

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 Explorer Sport
Hi yall! As mentioned I'm new and will be posting a hello in introduction forum soon. I just purchased a 2000 2dr Sport 2wd 4.0l w/ auto. It is completely stock with 133k. Truck is in great shape, perfect body & paint, like new interior, nwe tires on chrome rims. Honestly it looks like it could have just left the showroom floor. It was purchased new by an elderly gentleman and it's obvious he has taken very good care of it over the years.

Now the bad, yup you guessed it - dreaded coolant in the oil. I know this can only be only one of a couple reasons. I haven't gotten my hands on it yet and won't for roughly a week because I need to make some room for it at my house. Just trying to get a head start even though I'm pretty sure what is gonna need to be done . First thing I'm gonna due is run a compression check to verify it is a head gasket ( or head ). I've spent the last few days reading everything I could find on this forum as well as others and concensus seems to be bad factory design on the V6 heads and they are pro email to cracking and head gaskets are very prone to blowing. Another common issue seems to be the I take gaskets as well as the manifold prone to splitting ( I was already aware of the manifold issue from other Ford vehicles ).

I guess I'm looking for suggestions on purchasing new heads. I did note some suggestions on here about heads but I noticed a lot of the threads were very old and was wondering if any newer / better options availible. I think one I saw repeatedly was J & C? Another thing I was looking for some advice on was he manifold itself. Repair methods / reasonably priced replacements - not sure I want to drop $400 bucks on one and buying one used may not be that smart.