Newbie Here with a Brake Question.... | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Newbie Here with a Brake Question....

kawiultra99

Reaction score
City, State
FRANKLIN, MA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 EXPLORER XLT
Hi,

I am new to this board. I can't believe all the great information. I experienced a problem yesterday changing my rear rotors. I have a 2002 XLT V6 4*4.

I had a terrible time trying to remove the wheels. Sounds wierd but one wheel took me over an hour to remove from the vehicle. I had to use a crow bar and a rag and pry it off the rotor. I failed at removing the other rear wheel on the other side of the vehicle. Any suggestions/tricks on removing the wheel to service ther rotor and brake pads

I have read on here that to remove the rear rotors you first have to adjust the EBrake since its dragging on the inside of the rotor and there is a groove worn in it. Then bang the rear rotor off with a sledge.

How do you adjust the ebrake?

Dave

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

To assist in removing the wheel - put a SMALL amount of penetrating oil around the center of the hub where the rim meets the hub and let it soak in for a day or so. Many times this rusts and binds the two together - especially if the wheels aren't removed frequently. Thoroughly clean the rust off once the wheel is removed and it will be easier next time.

To adjust the e-brake - there is a rubber grommett on the bottom inside of the dust shield. Remove it and use a screwdriver to turn the spur. Once you get the wheel back on, turn the spur until its contacting (pad is against the drum) and then back it off 3-4 teeth.

Thanks,

I guess I didn't wait long enough for the PBBlaster to work. Damn ***** getting the wheels off the vehicle.