no fogs to aftermarket fogs | Ford Explorer - Ford Ranger Forums - Serious Explorations

  • Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

  • Holiday Special! - 2 for 1 Elite Explorer sale!

    Right now you can purchase an Elite Explorer membership for $20 and receive a two year membership! If you have an existing Elite membership contact me by PM and I will upgrade your account manually.

    Click Here to start your membership and get rid of the ads!

no fogs to aftermarket fogs

I picked up a set of cheap fog lights tonight, they were $20, but they're rectangular with a yellow tint. I've been wanting a set of fog lights for some time since it gets pretty foggy here sometimes. Anyways, we were having a helluva time tonight trying to find a spot to run the wires through the firewall, but I started thinking that since the wiring is there for the switch that the relay should be there for the factory fog lights. I've pulled the dash out and the fog light wiring is just there waiting to be used, but my dash doesn't have the switch there. I'm wondering if I can tap into this system to get the wiring run for the fog lights and install a switch there that will tap into the relay. Thus avoiding drilling through my firewall. And using a relay instead of just a fused switch.
 


Holiday Special! Join the Elite Explorers $20 for 2 years! Gets rid of the ads!

Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




Lacky01

Well-Known Member
Joined
October 18, 2008
Messages
748
Reaction score
1
City, State
Eugene, Oregon
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 Sport
just a thought...

head to your local pick-a-part and find a sploder with the factory fogs and pull the switch and/or see if it could be incorporated into your dash?

make sure, even if you dont use the factory switch, you use a relay!
wouldn't want your truck catching on fire. my dad roasted my moms late 60s Stang when they first got married. hard lesson learned.
 




heathmo

Well-Known Member
Joined
December 31, 2007
Messages
336
Reaction score
0
City, State
Davenport, IA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'99 Sport
Yeah, that's why I want to tap into the stock relay and switch, if there is a good diagram of how that's set up I'd love to see it. I looked at a previous post and the link is dead. Yeah I thought it was kind of weird that they didn't incorporate some kind of relay, they only sent a switch and not even enough wire to run anything very far. Anyways thanks for the help and hopefully I can get it explained how this is supposed to run from the lights to the relay and then to the switch.
 




vroomzoomboom

Elite Canuck STOCK SUCKS!
Elite Explorer
Joined
January 22, 2007
Messages
9,802
Reaction score
1,073
City, State
selkirk, manitoba
Year, Model & Trim Level
98 supercharged 347 sport
x2 on what Lacky01 said. my 98 sport didn't come with fog lights from factory. i had a 2000 ex awhile back that i striped for parts that did. all you need is the radio bezel that has a factory switch in it, as well as, if you find one that has fogs, there is a wire harness that runs from the factory lights, then under the front of the fenders. you don't have to cut anything to take them out. you can splice your aftermarket fog lights into the factory harness (its only two wires, this is the harness at the front of the truck btw) and plug everything in. i did it with mine. i have a hid kit running off it, and it works with no problems.
 




Bill Kemp

Elite Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
April 2, 2000
Messages
5,120
Reaction score
3
City, State
Greenville, MI
Year, Model & Trim Level
98 Mountaineer 5.0 AWD
What about fog relay ect. is that all there?
 




vroomzoomboom

Elite Canuck STOCK SUCKS!
Elite Explorer
Joined
January 22, 2007
Messages
9,802
Reaction score
1,073
City, State
selkirk, manitoba
Year, Model & Trim Level
98 supercharged 347 sport
What about fog relay ect. is that all there?

bill are you asking that question to me? if so, i can honestly say i do not know. the hid kit that i have is a 35w, so if it wasn't there, i didn't think there was much of a worry about it, seeing that a stock fog light is 55w. if you think i am doing something WAY WRONG, let me know now! i don't want my truck to go up in real flames. that and now that i have the projectors in it, i don't realy use them that much.
 




heathmo

Well-Known Member
Joined
December 31, 2007
Messages
336
Reaction score
0
City, State
Davenport, IA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'99 Sport
Ok, sounds like a trip to the junk yard is in order. Wish they'd close later than noon on Saturdays. Thanks for the help.
 




pickupman2

New Member
Joined
November 28, 2006
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
City, State
Daytona Beach, FL
Year, Model & Trim Level
98 XLT
I shove everything through my parking brake gromet in the firewall. I have a Ranger, but I would assume it's the same place in an Explorer.
 




Sams01XplrSprt

Southern Cali Explorer
Joined
November 14, 2004
Messages
14,188
Reaction score
2
City, State
Newport Beach California & Bay Area California
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Sport (sold)
do u got pics of ur fogs installed
 




Top