O/D light blinking, check engine light blinking, burning smell.. PLEASE HELP!! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

O/D light blinking, check engine light blinking, burning smell.. PLEASE HELP!!

Victr55

Reaction score
City, State
Sacramento, CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
1996 Ford Exploreer
Hello y'all, im not much of a car junkie so i have no idea whats going on with my car

I have a 1996 Ford Explorer & about 3 weeks ago i went on a 600-800 mile trip about 3 weeks ago & suddenly the O/D light starts flashing; i got really worried since i was in the middle of no where but eventually it stopped and i completed my trip. Ever since then it would occasionally flash but since i'm a young college student, i have no money to get it checked; let alone repair it.

About 5 days ago i was driving home when it started blinking ago; i disregarded it but then i smelled a burning smell & that got me really worried. I let it go but the next day the same thing happened; 5 minutes into driving and i could smell a burning smell. 2 days ago i was driving when both the check engine light and the O/D light start flashing. The check engine light stops within seconds but the O/D light kept flashing. Immediately i started smelling the burning smell. Today as i was driving, the same thing happened. Suddenly my Door Ajar light starts blinking and making the noise, as well as lock the doors. Fortunately, that stops within seconds.

Im so scared right about now because this is my only means of transportation at the moment. Most importantly i use it to get to work and without it i could lose my job. I wouldn't have much money to buy another car for the next 3-4 months.