• Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

^^Searches ExplorerForum.com^^

OBX header install

96ex5.0

Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
canyon tx
Year, Model & Trim Level
96 explorer 5.0 4x4 5spd
OK so I got my OBX headers on my biggest fight was with the rest of the exhaust but nothing a heel bar couldn't help with. Driver side went in no problems passenger side to more effort but I did not have to pull the engine mount. Now remember I'm an auto tech so I have a box full of tools that many won't have. My biggest recommendation is on the back two on passenger side is to get the front bolts in before you do any other bolts. I really think one thing that helped me was my 2" body lift.

IMG_20170310_175418.jpg

IMG_20170310_175408.jpg

There is no clearance issues or grinding on head everything fit with no contact.

I can definitely feel a difference and see it in acceleration.

IMG_20170310_175408.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20.

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see practically no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.

Centaurus5.0

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
96'
Nice! Thanks for posting.

I've heard but not checked that later year 5.0l explorer engines are mounted a bit more rearward than the 96-97's. Do you think the #7 primary would contact the firewall if it was set back 1/2-3/4"? Sufficient clearance between the AC box?

**Edit**

Doh! Just noticed you have a 2" lift (dont know how I missed that). I can see how that would definately make the install easier.