OEM Tonneau cover question

sickwilly

Reaction score
City, State
Middle Tennessee
Year, Model & Trim Level
2003 Exp Sport Trac
I promise, I searched first!

I am still debating an OEM tonneau versus a fabric one.

Here is my question: Can you drive down the road with the OEM one half folder over? I am looking at a tri-fold one that can be folded open and you can drive like this, giving you access to most of your bed. Will the OEM one stay open when driving, giving you access to at least half the bed?

I have read that it is heavy. How heavy -- 100 lbs?

Thanks!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I can't answer your question specifically, but it boils down to how often do you need the whole bed open?
I'm a contractor of sorts and I use my truck like a truck, hauling grass clippings, ladders, cardboard, whatever, and I often need the whole bed open, so for me a hard cover would not be practical.
If you don't need to haul big stuff that sticks out all over the place or to climb into the bed very often, then a hard cover would be fine.
For what it's worth, no water leaks into the bed with the soft cover I have (SportMasters tonneau).