Parking (Running) Lts Failure... | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

ibstang

"Hey, y'all, watch THIS !!"...
Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2005 Explorer XLT
I haven't spent much time with new-kid intro's (pardon me), but I've been having an incredible experience wandering the vast halls of Explorer lore at hand...

I've recently acquired an '05 Explorer XLT, at what I thought (at the time) was a bargain price. HMMM...

The issue at hand...Parking/running Lts are dark. Down-loaded the OEM manual, and even bought the on-line Chilton's manual. The Ford manual seems to have a slight disconnect with my current reality, and Chilton's is refusing my log-on requests. GRRRR...

Mind thee now, I've had over thirty years experience as a marine electrician, including consultancy translating Italian schematics for American boat-yards. For what I've seen, so far, of the Ford schematics...You've got to SCHLITZING me. It took me a fair while to determine that I'm dealing with not just one, but TWO fuse blocks, the second being buried under the dash (you *******I ). Anyways, I have identified an anomaly at the under-hood block BJB (battery junction block) at fuses 42-46...

With key "run" ("x" being "hot")...
sw 42 43 44 45 46
-O O na X O O
-P O na X O O
-H X na O X X

Before I embark on a Crusade of biblical proportions, I thought I'd see if one (or more) members might have dealt with a similar situation...Y'all know where to find me...Stang

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Oh, bugger...My graph of fuses 42-46 didn't type-set translate. In a nut-shell, F44 stays hot with the h/lt sw at off or park, then goes off with hd/lt on. F43 is empty. The remaining fuses do the inverse...Go figger..:confused2:...