• Register Today It's free!

possible 5.0 ho swap?

damasodeljr

Reaction score
City, State
Albuquerque NM
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 XLT 4dr
So my xlt has been running great, engine and trans have never given me any issues and i have taken it in 2500 miles road trips.

Recently a friend of mine bought a 91 mustang, planning to turn it into an all out racecar, and offered me the stock engine trans and harness off it for close to nothing, so now im interested in swapping the 94 xlt.

dropping the engine and wiring it would not be and issue at all, im a full time technician and specialize in imports mostly aftermarket and performance stuff, but when it comes to transmission setups for it is where im stuck.

i realize that the stock auto trans will not work and im not opposed to switching to a manual as long as i can keep the 4x4. after a few days of doing research here and everywhere else i feel even more confused than before :mad:

not planning on doing any major offroading and get to crazy with the grearing or have huge tires, currently mostly stock and for the little offroad i do is perfect, but the idea of a 5.0 is intriguing.

i know that there is no straight forward or off the shelf set up and mostly will need to be custom but what would be the easiest way to get a transmission to work with this set up? or mainly what tranny and t case

thanks in advance for any input and advise

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

For the 5-speed, you will need an M5OD/R2, which you can find in (I think) an f-150. If I remember correctly, the tail housing from your A4LD will bolt up to 8t so you can still use your existing transfer case. I'm sure that if that's incorrect, someone will chime in. Good luck with the swap, that's what I'm wanting to do to mine when I get the time/money!