Possible First Time Ford Product and Explorer owner | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Possible First Time Ford Product and Explorer owner

Ford_Newby

Reaction score
I am considering my first purchase of a Ford product. I bought a Tacoma Truck about a year ago and I have found I am not a "truck guy". I like the style of the Explorer, a little better gas mileage, the idea of buying American and the fact I can still go HD on the weekend and put some mulch and a plant or two in the back. I would also use the roof rack on vacation and pull a small trailer with a Seadoo or two.

If you could go back and buy your Explorer again is there anything you would change or wish you had added. Any surprises that came up in the finance office you would of negotiated differently. I am looking to pick up a 2012 XLT if I can find the right price.

I have been driving Honda, Toyota and Mazda for the last 20 years and getting 200K out of everyone with very few $ spent to get there. Can I expect similar life in the Ford products coming out today?

Thanks for any help or direction and I hope my next post is a picture of my new Explorer :)

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I got a limited with polished wheels, moonroof, bucket seats, and rear console. I have no regrets... I debated back and forth on the towing package but decided I probably wouldn't use it. Got the bucket wests since I have two infant seats but had to give up the 7th passenger spot...that is one disadvantage compared to a pilot or Odyssey. Also I chose not to get awd because I wouldn't use it much in the south, it had worse mpg, and extra cost. Likewise the ecoboost just seemed too wimpy and wasn't worth the loss of power and extra cost compared to the measly improvement in mpg (ecoboost in 2013 sport is different)