Potential Explorer owner.

greydawg

Reaction score
City, State
Springfield, IL
Year, Model & Trim Level
1994 XLT
Hello,

I am a newbie to both this forum and Explorers. Actually, I don't own an Explorer yet, but am looking hard at one to buy. It is a 94 XLT 4 door 4x4 with little body rust but some under body.

It has 134,x.. miles and one ouch on the passenger side between the front door and front wheel.

Question is this. What is the mileage expectancy of a well maintained 4.0 L with auto? How about the rest of the drive train?

Any thoughts would be helpful.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Asking price is $4,000. Negotiations ongoing.

$4 grand for a 94 with 133k is basically highway robbery... on the part of the dealer/seller.

I'm not sure about the market in your area, but I just looked on Craigslist/Autotrader/Ebay in MA, and the most expensive 94' I could find was $2100 (with 133k)

I've found other 94's ranging from $200 with 190k to $1800 with 90k.

94 is stone stock. Dealer is charging near the market in this area. I have looked at one private party 92 with 3250 asking that was total crap.

I would pay 4000 based on what I have seen in this area, as it is relatively rust-free and interior is clean with no rips/tears or excess wear on leather or carpets. Dealer is giving 90 days/3,000 warranty on drive train.

I am going to have a mechanic look it over before I buy, however.

Honestly, I have looked at only a few due to indecision on what to get. Limited funds so want to get the best vehicle I can for my money. Have always wanted Explorer though.

One more question. I noticed that the 94 I am looking at has only a 5 digit odometer that reads 34xxx. Dealer is saying 134,x...

Pictures I see on Autotrader of 94 Explorers show 6 digit odometers.

Any thoughts?