• Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

Problems With installing SUPERCHIP-----HELP PLEASE!!!

Ru Dawg

Well-Known Member
Joined
July 26, 2000
Messages
949
Reaction score
0
City, State
Wyomissing, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'95 XLT
Hey guys and gals...tried to install my superchip yesterday...things went well until I slapped it on the ECU...It didn't line up flush with the box...there was about a 1/4" gap between the chip and the ECU! So, this gap did not allow me to mount the ECU were it belong fully...Anyone ever come across this? Did they send me the wrong size chip? The codes matched up...FIG2, but the dag gone thing wouldn't go back in on the bolts like it should? I plan on calling Gene at Performance Ford tommorrow and discussing this little problem with him!
 


Join the Elite Explorers for $20 per year. Gets rid of the ads! New $5 per month "try out" option.

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




flyguy

Explorer Addict
Joined
October 17, 1999
Messages
1,858
Reaction score
0
City, State
Gilbert, AZ
Year, Model & Trim Level
'07 XLT V8
I had the same thing happen with my jet chip. I think.. when I installed the chip.. it wouldnt bolt back on the bracket... I forget what I did... but its half in the bracket... and I think tape was involved. :) Accoding to the pictures of the explorer installation.. its supposed to be perfect. oh well...

nick
 




William Schumacher

Well-Known Member
Joined
February 26, 1999
Messages
657
Reaction score
1
City, State
Yonkers,NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
'99 Sport 4X4
chip install

Ru Dawg:, not sure where the ecu is on a '95 but,on my '99,it's on the firewall on the pass side,not sure what you are describing,are you sure the chip is right side up,where the chip is flush with the ecu,or are you saying that the ecu,with the chip installed won't slide all the way back in (chip hits the back of dash),if this is the case,you may be able to break the plastic divider in the ecu bay,so the chip will slide all the way back,so when the
plate is installed theres no space for dirt or cold winter air to get in. on my '99,I could not do this,there was metal
notches that could not be broken,and I had to make a spacer out of compressed foam to seal the ecu,
good luck,
 




Alec

Elite Moderator
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
April 25, 2000
Messages
15,997
Reaction score
1
City, State
Houston, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
2008 JK
I don't know how the Superchip works, but my Hypertech chip came with a gasket to fill in the space created between the firewall and plastic cover. With the gasket, it fits perfectly.
 




charger1

Member
Joined
June 26, 2000
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
I had the same problem with my 2000, when I tried to install my Superchip it stuck out from the module about 1/4". This prevented the module from sliding all the way back in. A quick call to Chris at Smarty Parts and he said this is not uncommon as Ford uses different module manufactures which have different size boards inside them. I placed a 1/4" piece of wood between the back of the module and the chip then used duct tape to secure the chip to the module. After installing the module I still had a gap between the firewall and the rubber gasket for the module. For this I picked up some 1 1/4" x 1 1/4" air conditioner sealing foam from Home Depot. I ran it around the module and reinstalled it. It looks and works great. Hope this helps
 




Ru Dawg

Well-Known Member
Joined
July 26, 2000
Messages
949
Reaction score
0
City, State
Wyomissing, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'95 XLT
new idea

thanks everyone for the replies...I have an idea that might be the best way to seal that module the way it was meant to be. I was thinking about filing down the 2 notches on the side were the chip is, then cutting out the verticle bar. What does anyone think about doing that? The way I'm thinking is that way the ECU would slide back in all the way and seal up the way it is supposed to.
 




William Schumacher

Well-Known Member
Joined
February 26, 1999
Messages
657
Reaction score
1
City, State
Yonkers,NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
'99 Sport 4X4
it sounds like alot of work to file them things down,the center piece is plastic, (verticle)I went to the home depot,
bought a sheet of that exterior foam sheeting,had black on 1 side and aluminum on the other,very neetly used the existing plate to trace and just popped the studs through,and it was flush and sealed,aluminum out to reflect the heat,took 5 minutes with a sharp knife.
 




Top