• Register Today It's free!

Project Vulture

DintDobbs

Reaction score
City, State
NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 Explorer Sport 4x4
Being that I've been working on my Explorer for three years now, it's time to make a proper build thread.

Vehicle: 1999 Sport 4x4, 4.0L SOHC, 153k on the clock.

I don't have any convenient pics from before the fun started, but here's a good pic of its early days under new ownership.

The first and most necessary modification was to remove the running boards in the name of clearance and appearance, and the second was to add some small but effective lights on the front. Removing the badges just made sense.

Originally, I spent a great deal of time down at the beach; lifting was unnecessary and slow cruising was the order of the day. Part of me knew these days wouldn't last...

IMG_20180314_190712.jpg

So clean. So original. So factory. So... boring?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Time passed, and so did working near the beach. Money grew more common and time grew more scarce.

It became apparent that the easy life was over for both me and the Vulture. Greatness always comes at a price, and in some cases, it means getting rid of things you want, but don't need.

IMG_20180605_134603.jpg

It's been real, sub box. You will be missed. Some day, you will be returned to your home in the Vulture...

Removing the sub box turned out to be a good decision for two reasons. Firstly, it made room for cargo in the back. Secondly, it made the Vulture a functional work truck. That facilitated this awkward moment:

IMG_20181108_095443.jpg

Loaded about 15 5-gallon boxes of commercial soda syrup into the back. The tires were scrubbing on the wheel wells. Poor single-leaf springs had PTSD after this. (More on this later.)