Pulling a transmission saturday-couple questions | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Pulling a transmission saturday-couple questions

PrestonS

Reaction score
City, State
kissimmee
Year, Model & Trim Level
'94 eddie bauer
I'm planning on pulling a transmission for my X on saturday because its nearly gone, infact I am suprised it's lasted me this long considering the condition its in. But anyway I've never done this swap before and was wondering a couple things.

One my Explorer is a late '94 explorer 4X4 w/A4LD, am I able to use any A4LD transmission I pull? I figure I can because the 4x4 is at the transfer case. (correct me if im wrong there).

Second any specific tools I need to do the job? I don't want to make any more trips than needed.

Any insight is appreciated. Thanks

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I think that there are some subtle differences in the A4LDs from different years. If you can find one from a 93' or 94' it would be best, because then it would have the most up-to-date parts. Also, the tail housing on the transmission is what bolts up to the transfer case, so you would have to either find one from a 4WD, or swap the tail housings. good luck with it!

Thanks for the tip! I'll be on the lookout for that. Fortunately theres a few pull and pay yards in the area and I just grabbed a new spare from one last week theres fortunately quit a few explorers to look at.

I bet you a lot of those are cash for clunkers trucks, which means they could be in good condition other than the the engines being trashed.

I pulled the trans a bunch of times on a 4x2 manual... the automatics just have more stuff to disconnect. What tools do you plan to bring with as of now?