• Register Today It's free!

Putting on a 3 inch body lift.

Colin2722

Reaction score
City, State
Summerville SC
Year, Model & Trim Level
91 XLT
Alright so this is my first time doing any sort of lift and with the help of a friend after 5 hours we have finally gotten 3 of the 5 body mounts off of the drivers side. Question. how do i get the mount off that is located above the gas tank? and the front mount for the bumper is stripped so what would a solution be for that? thanks for any input.

Colin

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

suscribing.. you could try cutting off the bolts. ive heard some people resort to doing that..

It makes it much easier to remove the gas tank. Then you can hit the nut on the bottom with some heat, and hit the bolt with the impact. Best of luck, I know I had loads of fun with my body lift

I ended up using a 2-3' pipe wrench and a impact gun to get one of the fronts off. Think I ground the other one off. Can't remember.

after ten hours im at fronts off, rears off, drivers off(without droping the tank) and two passenger side mounts loose. i ended up cutting off both of the fronts because it turns out that they both have a nut on top and since the bushing is threaded it also acts as a nut which sucks. the three that are left on the passanger side are not rounding off at the top but arent getting any looser while their spining.

alright after about 14 hours of labor ive gotten all the mounts off but the kit that i got did not come with the right sized bolts. do not order anything from streetsideauto.com because the customer service is crap and the box looked like it was being held together by tape. I called performance accesories and they are sending me a new set of bolts and nuts so i hope to be working on it again by friday. Ill keep updating.