Ranger SASed 500 miles later Looking for some help | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Ranger SASed 500 miles later Looking for some help

1991 ranger sas 44/9inch
well I have put 500 miles on my ranger after doing the swap.
not much offroad use yet.
1 problem is that Im not getting as much flex as i would like in the front
Im not getting enough drop in the rear. maybe longer springs???

I have stock radius arms I was thinking of wristing 1 arm

any help would be great thanks

100_1978.jpg

100_1971.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

What type of springs did you use in the front? The coils look to be really close together when extended leading me to believe that they are not compressing that much and could be limiting your travel. I'm no expert by any means, just throwing an idea out there.

Dan

I bought them off ebay I think they are cage
they are Progressive rate coil springs thats they way they look

thanks

Make sure your shocks aren't limiting your travel either.

the shocks arent, I have also flexed it without them and still dose the same thing

those are progressive coils, and they look very stiff for a progressive coil. That and I don't believe I've ever seen them with that many progressive winds on one side, very interesting. As Dan said they do look very stiff, but that should not affect your droop only your compression

If you have the stock radius arms and mounts they are limiting your travel the stock radius bushing are probably almost maxed out with just the lift, and then when you try to droop it there is nothing left. You need to make them longer much longer to add some room to flex. Plus look at the angle of your radius arms, you are pushing against that every time the suspension tries to flex it is probably pushing your axle way front.