Recommendations for scan tools ~$200 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Recommendations for scan tools ~$200

I'm a casual/diy home mechanic and am looking for a decent but not too expensive scan tool. There are so many brands and models I literally can't sort through them. Amazon is a mess. I have forscan which is amazing but need a tool to work on other brands as well.

What features and capabilities should I look for? As I understand I, you need a bidirectional scanner that can handle multiple vehicle brands and see all the modules. Does anyone have any experience with tools in this price range?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

have had good luck w/obdlink mx the bt one but theres a wired one too. use w/ torque or obdlink great for rrwding data but cant do the stuff forscan can like w keys and what not

I'm a casual/diy home mechanic and am looking for a decent but not too expensive scan tool. There are so many brands and models I literally can't sort through them. Amazon is a mess. I have forscan which is amazing but need a tool to work on other brands as well.

What features and capabilities should I look for? As I understand I, you need a bidirectional scanner that can handle multiple vehicle brands and see all the modules. Does anyone have any experience with tools in this price range?
If you can bit the bullet, buy the autel scanner. Its about $850.
I does all live data, graphs, etc. Multiple vehicles ODB2. If you don't want too spent that much. Look for a used actron ( ODB2 high end model).
It will save $140 at the dealer charge too scan codes. It all depend on what cars you have?
My first scanner ODB1 in 2000 cost me $500 , and it does multiple vehicles and also ODB2.
Hopefully someone on here has a ODB2 high end scanner.