Removing M5OD with t-case attached? & other questions... | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Removing M5OD with t-case attached? & other questions...

'93BajaSport

Reaction score
City, State
Antelope Valley, SoCal
Year, Model & Trim Level
'93 Explorer Sport
I have my '93 Sport partially taken apart to install a new clutch. I have only gotten to some peripheral parts so far; the exhaust, trans, and transfer case are still in. I am no stranger to changing engines or drivelines, but this is my first time getting this deep in an Explorer.

First, can the trans be removed without separating the t-case? If so, is it bad or dangerous or a PITA to leave it attached?

Second, I know the clutch is getting questionable, but I am also concerned about the transmission itself. For some time now it has been shifting stubbornly, especially after warming up. No grinding or noises, just slow and difficult to get into gear and shifting between gears. Could this be caused by the weak clutch, or is it more likely that the blocker rings are worn out? It's the original trans with 230,000mi.

Third, is it necessary/recommended/etc to replace the slave cylinder as well?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I do it all the time in my B2, however the gas tank is too close on explorer's to remove both at the same time. YES replace the slave, it could be the culprit to your shifting problems as well as the pilot bearing. Even if the slave is good, Murphy's law will make it leak as soon as you reinstall it, I've had it happen to me, sucks to drop the tranny again the next day.

however the gas tank is too close on explorer's to remove both at the same time.

Hahns is right, its way too close.

I even leave the speedo sensor off the t-case to get it up and down. Makes it easier.