• Register Today It's free!

Rough country lift kit questions

Harder93

Reaction score
City, State
Buckley, WA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'93 XLT 4x4
I have a rough country lift kit (4") and 5.5" superlift coils for the rear i have YJ 2" lift shackles. I was wondering how well this will work. I plan to also purchase 3" rough country leaf packs. Any advice on installing the lift, things to watch out for? this is my first time doing something like this.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Ooo...seems like a little bit of a strange mix.

I can tell you right away that the back is going to look funky with the leaf packs only being 3". Did you get them used? If you are going new why not step up to the 4" packs to bring it level?

Have you considered doing a spring over axle conversion on the rear? If you are tackling the lift yourself trust me you can handle it. The front (in my opinion) is by far the harder part to do.

Check the registry on my signature for what I learned doing my lift. If you have any specific questions shoot me a PM.
When you get down to doing it if you'd like I can give you my cell if you want to ask questions during the process.

Mine was completely trial and error getting it right and I know it would've been nice to have some experienced help. I know if I were to do it over again I could've got it done a lot quicker.

Hope this helps.

I have the 2" lift shackles and i was thinking the 3" leaf packs because that would bring the rear to 5" in the rear and 5.5 in the front. The SOA is an option however, Ive been think very hard about it. And yes it is all used bought for 130 bucks. The part that has be stressing is the rivits for the front axle drop beam.

I see what you're doing, shackles and the 3" leafs. Makes sense.