• Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

^^Searches ExplorerForum.com^^

Routing Through Firewall


2011explorerbase

New Member
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Hi, I'm looking to install a 2-way radio, but cannot find where to run the wire through the firewall. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
 


Join the Elite Explorers for $20 per year. Gets rid of the ads! New $5 per month option.

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




vipersinu2

Active Member
Joined
March 10, 2008
Messages
636
Reaction score
13
City, State
The Big City of Orange City, Florida
Year, Model & Trim Level
2019 Navigator 450hp
Hi, I'm looking to install a 2-way radio, but cannot find where to run the wire through the firewall. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
there is a rubber plug passenger side top left look under glovebox, it is used for the windshield washer reservoir, I use a flexable rod and poke thru form inside out, it helps if you spray wd-40 on the wires so it slide easily, I did it dry a couple of times and I accidenty pulled the grommett thru and it was a pain to reseat.
 




t4rest

New Member
Joined
April 12, 2011
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
City, State
Mabank, TX
Year, Model & Trim Level
2011 Ltd
there is a rubber plug passenger side top left look under glovebox, it is used for the windshield washer reservoir, I use a flexable rod and poke thru form inside out, it helps if you spray wd-40 on the wires so it slide easily, I did it dry a couple of times and I accidenty pulled the grommett thru and it was a pain to reseat.
vipersinu2, Could you please help me alittle on the location of the plug? I can't seem to find the plug from inside. Carpeting and plastic cover everything in that area. Is it behind the glove box? If so how did you get to it? Or can I see it from the outside?

Thanks
 




t4rest

New Member
Joined
April 12, 2011
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
City, State
Mabank, TX
Year, Model & Trim Level
2011 Ltd
I did finally find the plug. It is a serious pain in the a$$ to get to. I had to remove the glove box and some plastic cover under the glove box. And still could barely see the plug. One of the screws I couldn't put back when I put everything back. I did notice that there is another plug on the driver side. It is for the hood release pass thru, but it also is next to impossible to access from either side. I'm trying to run a single wire thru the firewall. I would hate to have to run thru the door jam but I looks like that is the only option that doesn't involve removing the whole front console for one wire.
 




charliez

Member
Joined
March 20, 2011
Messages
88
Reaction score
0
City, State
Seattle, WA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'11 XLT 4x4
Which option did you take for the wire, I'm doing the same.
 




t4rest

New Member
Joined
April 12, 2011
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
City, State
Mabank, TX
Year, Model & Trim Level
2011 Ltd
I gave up trying to use either plug. I actually decided to just drill a new hole on the driver side floor board. Sealed it will silicone and taped the wire to the under side of the body. My Ex is silver and so is the duct tape so it didn't look to bad but it is obvious from under the car only.
 




charliez

Member
Joined
March 20, 2011
Messages
88
Reaction score
0
City, State
Seattle, WA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'11 XLT 4x4
Thanks, I'll try the plugs first ...
 




2011explorerbase

New Member
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Thanks for the advice. I went through the existing plug on the passenger side under the glove box where the wiper fluid hose runs, and had no problems.
 




W

w1kedz

Thanks for the advice. I went through the existing plug on the passenger side under the glove box where the wiper fluid hose runs, and had no problems.
Ran my 4 gauge amp power wire through there as well, no issues. Easiest run through the firewall I've ever done.
 




jtc24

New Member
Joined
April 1, 2010
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
City, State
Kentucky
Year, Model & Trim Level
2013 Explorer Base
What has to be removed in the area of the glove box to get to the plug? Also, once the wire is pushed through, will I need to get beneath the truck to get to it from the outside?
 




peterk9

Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
December 28, 2010
Messages
27,027
Reaction score
1,481
City, State
Ottawa, Ontario area
Year, Model & Trim Level
2020 Aviator Reserve
Callsign
VE3




jtc24

New Member
Joined
April 1, 2010
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
City, State
Kentucky
Year, Model & Trim Level
2013 Explorer Base
Thanks, Peter. I actually discovered a grommet in the floor behind the driver's seat. The carpet splits right there, as well, so I'm going to run the wire underneath the car and enclose it in tubing.
 




Tony407

Active Member
Joined
July 13, 2014
Messages
211
Reaction score
5
City, State
Portland, OR
Year, Model & Trim Level
2015 Ford Explorer Sport
Thanks everyone for this thread. Took a good hard look at my '15 the other day and thought "This is going to be a PITA!" Never had such a difficult time trying to find a way through the firewall before. I'll have to take off the glovebox this weekend and get it done.

Tony
 




Tony407

Active Member
Joined
July 13, 2014
Messages
211
Reaction score
5
City, State
Portland, OR
Year, Model & Trim Level
2015 Ford Explorer Sport
Ummmm...no.

I would love some help from those of you who have routed their power cables behind the glove box. I just took it apart and I don't see any way how this is humanly possible. I've ran 4 and 0/1 power gauge wires through the firewalls of almost all the vehicles I've owned for the last 27 years, and after looking behind the glove box area of the Explorer, I'm pretty stumped.

Here's a picture behind the glove box after it and the felt-lined owner's manual pocket above it have been removed. The yellow arrow points to the rear windshield washer line. Where this line runs through the firewall is buried FAR behind and around the corner out of sight. No way of running a wire through from this side.

Behindglovebox_zps1fa0b298.jpg


Here's the view from the engine compartment. The line runs behind the strut tower. It would take Rubberband Man to get anything back there. I couldn't even begin to get a coat hanger wire back there, much less be able to see what I was doing.

Firewall1_zps2a31c6d6.jpg


Any ideas? At least in the 2015 Sport model, this myth has been BUSTED!

Tony
 




Tony407

Active Member
Joined
July 13, 2014
Messages
211
Reaction score
5
City, State
Portland, OR
Year, Model & Trim Level
2015 Ford Explorer Sport
Okay, all done. Ditched the behind-the-glovebox idea. Instead I ran my 4-gauge along the strut tower bar, down beside the engine to the floorpan and then up through the floorboard. Not too difficult.

Upper right-hand corner of the passenger floorboard:
Floorboard1_zpsd2383098.jpg


View from underneath:
Floorboard2_zps90eca752.jpg


Power wire up through the floorboard w/ grommet:
Floorboard4_zps469b024e.jpg


View from underneath after everything's zip tied and wrapped in split loom:
Floorboard3_zps69b8b006.jpg
 




peterk9

Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
December 28, 2010
Messages
27,027
Reaction score
1,481
City, State
Ottawa, Ontario area
Year, Model & Trim Level
2020 Aviator Reserve
Callsign
VE3
Very nice job. Looks professional. :thumbsup:

Peter
 




LSMITH2509

New Member
Joined
March 28, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
City, State
FLORIDA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2015 FORD EXPLORER XLT
Passageway through firewall 2015

Have a 2015 Exp XLT and need to get a wire from the engine compartment to the passenger compartment. Has anyone found a way? I can go through either the drivers or passenger side. Perfer to do this the easiest and least damaging way. Help Thanks
 




Sgt1411

Elite Explorer
Joined
February 22, 2011
Messages
4,289
Reaction score
332
City, State
VanBC/GoodyearAZ
Year, Model & Trim Level
2017 Explorer SPORT
Go to www.fordpoliceinterceptor.com

Download the Upfitters guide and it explains there how to use the existing pass through behind the glove box.
 




peterk9

Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
December 28, 2010
Messages
27,027
Reaction score
1,481
City, State
Ottawa, Ontario area
Year, Model & Trim Level
2020 Aviator Reserve
Callsign
VE3
Have a 2015 Exp XLT and need to get a wire from the engine compartment to the passenger compartment. Has anyone found a way? I can go through either the drivers or passenger side. Perfer to do this the easiest and least damaging way. Help Thanks
Welcome to the Forum LSMITH2509.:wavey:
Using the Forum's 'Search' feature, I found this thread and merged yours with it. Good luck.:thumbsup:

Peter
 


Join the Elite Explorers for $20 per year. Gets rid of the ads! New $5 per month option.

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




LSMITH2509

New Member
Joined
March 28, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
City, State
FLORIDA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2015 FORD EXPLORER XLT
Tony, the hole you show from above, was it there or did you make the hole? As far as behind the glove box idea, it to is a no-go for the XLT model also.
 




Top