Running rough after plug change | Ford Explorer - Ford Ranger Forums - Serious Explorations
  • Register Today It's free!

Running rough after plug change

tmfulton

New Member
Joined
February 2, 2009
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I put autolite spark plugs in my 1996 explorer v8, gapped according to specs and now it runs rough. Should I use only Motorcraft plugs?
 



Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!
.





section525

sextion525
Elite Explorer
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
February 11, 2001
Messages
14,763
Reaction score
29
City, State
Red Bluff, Ca
Year, Model & Trim Level
1975 Ford Bronco 4x4
Autolite is the same as Motorcraft. I'd check your connections and be sure you have the correct firing order.
 






Runnin'OnEmpty

Explorer Addict
Joined
July 20, 2002
Messages
2,083
Reaction score
124
City, State
Southeast USA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 Sport
They used to be the same, but not anymore. Autolites are now made in Mexico. The electrodes look to be poorly made too, with a 'rounded over' appearance rather than sharp precise bends.
Out of the last 14 new Autolite plugs I've bought, 2 were bad. One was bad right out of the box, and the other went bad after just a few thousand miles.

It was trial and error in finding the bad plugs; I'd change one bank and test drive to see if the miss went away. Funny thing is, the last bad plug ran well during driving (after it warmed up), but misfired at idle. It was very slightly damp when I pulled it, so it was suspect immediately.

Needless to say, I've bought my last Autolite plug.:thumbdwn:
 






marragtop

Explorer Addict
Joined
April 14, 2001
Messages
2,075
Reaction score
0
City, State
balt, md
Year, Model & Trim Level
91, 92, 95, and 2000 xlts
Make sure that all the wires are seated properly and that none of them were damanged when the plugs were changed. Also, make sure you didn't knock a vacuum line loose.
 






mikepier

Well-Known Member
Joined
December 24, 2008
Messages
322
Reaction score
6
City, State
Long Island, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 XLT
15 XL
I've had the same problem with my 99 XLT SOHC for a while now after changing to Autolites APP103. I also changed the wires, but I'm pretty sure its due to the plugs. It has the "vibrating" idle everyone talks about on this forum. Next time I'm going back to Motorcraft and seeing if that solves the issue.
 






Cobraguy

Explorer Addict
Joined
February 22, 2008
Messages
2,522
Reaction score
19
City, State
Phoenix...Greatest City on Earth
Year, Model & Trim Level
1995 EB & 1999 EB 5.0
It's possible you cracked an insulator when installing the new plug...especially if you didn't use a special spark plug socket that protects that from happening.
 






tmfulton

New Member
Joined
February 2, 2009
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Autolite Plug problems

Thanks for the info. I thougt maybe I damaged one of the plug wires (they have 101,000 miles) so I replaced them. The truck idled fine (better) but, under load misfired. It did run a little smoother. it got late so I benched for the night. I'm putting in some Motorcraft plugs right after this note, I'll let you know how it goes...
 






Top