Saleen Explorer Experts Needed!! | Page 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Saleen Explorer Experts Needed!!

Im new to the X thing but have been into mustangs forever.Here is my problem-I know that the saleen mustang wheels(18inch)have a different offset front to rear.The reason for this is to keep the back wheels from being tucked in.Did the Saleen XP8 Explorer have different offsets front to rear like the mustangs?The reason I ask is because ALL of the fake saleen wheels Ive seen have the same offset front to rear.I like the price of the knock-offs but if the rears are going to tuck in Ill just have to bite the bullet and go with the real ones.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Try the tire Rack. I believe there are at least two. The Michelin was about $150 each, and the other was a Pirelli possibly. Maybe it was a Toyo, I have forgotten.

Basically though, know that each 10mm larger width is about 1/2" taller of a diameter. For my vehicle, I think a 255/60/18 would be closest to what I prefer.

You should choose something based on how good of a ride versus handling that you want. Good luck,
Don

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

tires

Well since Im going to lower it 1.5 I went ahead and ordered the 255/55/18s like the XP8s came with.I got the BFGOODRICH G-FORCE KDS2s.They seem to have good ratings and a cool tread design as well.The michelins look to much like a 4X4 tire and thats NOT the look Im after....Ill let yall know how it turns out....