Sh*@ty Gas Mileage | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Sh*@ty Gas Mileage

Ryan

Reaction score
I have stock 94 explorer XLT 4.0 auto tranny and lately ive only been getting about 250 to 270 miles per tank......Ive gotten ive gotten almost 100 more than that if im remembering correctly. Anybody know what might be causing this

Also sometime when I start it. It acts like its only running on 4 or 5 cylinders .... but after reving it once or twice it usally levels out and idles correctly.

Ok one last thing...Where is the temp guage supposed to run. Mine just barley touched the N on the word Normal...They said it was the thermostat and replaced it and it still runs in the same spot. ive heard that if you engine isnt running at the right temp that will or can affect performance

I appreciate any information.....I love my explorer but Im new to ford's and don't know all their secrets yet

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Concerning your fuel economy, according to what I have seen posted here, first thing to check is the MAF sensor. It is located just past the air filter as you go toward the throttle body. They have a couple of tiny wires inside that are used as air flow sensors and can get a build-up and start malfunctioning. You can do a search on the subject for instructions on how to clean it. Just make sure to reset the computer after cleaning it.