Should i Bypass the factory amp?? | Ford Explorer - Ford Ranger Forums - Serious Explorations

  • Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

  • Holiday Special! - 2 for 1 Elite Explorer sale!

    Right now you can purchase an Elite Explorer membership for $20 and receive a two year membership! If you have an existing Elite membership contact me by PM and I will upgrade your account manually.

    Click Here to start your membership and get rid of the ads!

Should i Bypass the factory amp??

jiimi

Active Member
Joined
May 2, 2000
Messages
91
Reaction score
0
City, State
St. Mary's County, MD
Year, Model & Trim Level
'92 4door 4wd XLT
Ok, i belive my car came with a factory amp, its a 92, 4door 4wd. I took out the old radio, and installed a new one. Unfourtunatly i couldn't find an adapter so i had to cut of the old quick conect from the car and HU and match the wires up together. Everything worked out ok. and been running fine for the past year. Im now going to change the speakers in the door. Should i bypass the factory amp? i don't plan on putting in a different one, my HU is 4x45 watts RMS which should be plenty since most 6x8 are 50 watts RMS. What is the wattage on the factory amp, should i even bother?
 


Holiday Special! Join the Elite Explorers $20 for 2 years! Gets rid of the ads!

Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




VairKing

Midwest-Xplorer Member
Joined
January 10, 2002
Messages
1,843
Reaction score
0
City, State
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Year, Model & Trim Level
'97 EB V8 AWD
There has been a lot of talk about the factory amps lately. The general consensus is to get rid of it. It degrades the sound quality, and limits the power that gets to the speakers. You can buy an amp bypass adapter that just plugs in, or if you feel confident, you can cut and splice the wires together.
 




jiimi

Active Member
Joined
May 2, 2000
Messages
91
Reaction score
0
City, State
St. Mary's County, MD
Year, Model & Trim Level
'92 4door 4wd XLT
Ok, thnx, this might be a dumb question but where is the factory amp located?? Would it just be better to wire the speakers straight to the HU how hard is it to get them through the doors?
 




VairKing

Midwest-Xplorer Member
Joined
January 10, 2002
Messages
1,843
Reaction score
0
City, State
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Year, Model & Trim Level
'97 EB V8 AWD
The amp is located in the rear passenger side panel, where the rear seatbelt bolts on the top. You have to remove this to bypass it. It is probably going to be easier just to rewire the speakers, since you will have the doors apart to put the new speakers in.
 




LudusHatesReese

Well-Known Member
Joined
September 5, 2001
Messages
262
Reaction score
0
City, State
Pearland, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
'91 Sport 4.0L
WHY DID FORD EVEN BOTHER WITH THE FACTORY AMP?
IT CAUSES NOTHING BUT TROUBLE.
 




Bobby Locs

Well-Known Member
Joined
March 8, 2002
Messages
460
Reaction score
1
City, State
Tracy, CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'00 Expedition
It just causes problems for people like us, now my parents which will never upgrade there stero it works just great....... I ripped out my factory amp and sub and put two amps in its place to runn my door speakers
 




LudusHatesReese

Well-Known Member
Joined
September 5, 2001
Messages
262
Reaction score
0
City, State
Pearland, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
'91 Sport 4.0L
I've noticed most other car makers at least have the courtesy to put ther amp near or on the HU. I'd like to meet the guy who came up with this idea, I bet he's a real Einstein.
 




Cartman

Well-Known Member
Joined
August 24, 2001
Messages
523
Reaction score
0
City, State
Waterloo, Ontario
Year, Model & Trim Level
'96 Sport
jimmi - are you sure you're head unit is 45 watts RMS x4, most of the time the numbers for head units are peak. I know my pioneer says on it 50w x4 but it is really 22 watts RMS x4.
If it is 45 watts peak i'd still take out the factory amp.
 




aldive

Elite In Memoriam
Joined
January 17, 2001
Messages
24,706
Reaction score
19
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 XLT
I say dump the factory ampo,

What HU do you have that is putting out 45 W RMS?

Thanks.....
 




jonny 5

Well-Known Member
Joined
October 25, 2001
Messages
915
Reaction score
0
City, State
Seekonk, MA 02771 (home), N. Dartmouth, MA (college)
Year, Model & Trim Level
'98 XLT SOHC
That rating is peak, I'm guessing. Most put out 20-25 watts RMS. But the new Alpine head unit with the hybrid MOFSET 60 internal amp put out 60 x 4 peak and 27 x 4 RMS. I thinking of getting that sucker.
 




jiimi

Active Member
Joined
May 2, 2000
Messages
91
Reaction score
0
City, State
St. Mary's County, MD
Year, Model & Trim Level
'92 4door 4wd XLT
Yeah, thnx i just looked back and it is 45 watts at peak.

Has anyone wired thier speakers through the door? how hard is it to go through the door properly?
 




Van I.

Well-Known Member
Joined
June 21, 2001
Messages
180
Reaction score
0
City, State
Maui to Keizer, OR
Year, Model & Trim Level
'91 4dr 4x4, 04 xlt 4.6
rewire

You should rewire your door speakers, it is not hard to do. I just used a hanger to pull the wire through the door to the inside. I just followed the wires that were there.
Take your time and do it right the first time.

Van
 




Top