Sirius Tuner Installation Help

bobm

Reaction score
City, State
Chicago, IL
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 EB
A newbe question for you...

I'm looking to install this in my 2000 Eddie Bauer and attach it to my factory headunit (MACH Audio):

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-Bph7EGKabng/cgi-bin/ProdView.asp?g=247350&I=607SCFM1

It the SIRIUS SC-FM1 Starbase unit.

Anybody install one of these before?
Where is the best place to get power from?

According to the manual, I need to attach three power wires:

+12V to the battery
+12V to switched ignition
-12V negative ground

I've never done this before, but I can't imagine this is different than any of the other Sirius/XM tuners out there....

Can anybody offer any pointers?

Bob

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

i have the same type box except it attaches to my Alpine HU. I ran power off the cig lighter. You can splice right into the wire. No need to attach to the battery.
Any other questions?
-Sean

Thanks for the reply....

Did you tap into the cigarette lighter in the dash next to the headunit, or the "accessory plug" near the front passanger's foot well?

And you only attached the negative wire and the "switched" positive, correct?

Bob

From the existing wires, you'll need the 12VDC (this is constant power) and you'll need the "switched ignition" or relay (this sends a power signal to the unit when the stereo is turned on and off when off) and you'll need the antenna if you're using the FM modulation. The easiest way to do this is just pull the factory HU (you'll need the Ford stereo removal tools (U-shaped keys that release the lock on the factory HU) they cost about $4-6 at AutoZone or O'Reillys, whatever's close. From here you can get 12VDC AND your relay wires spliced and the antenna, of course.