Sound System Upgrades for a 98 XLT, Factory Non Premium/Mach Sound | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Sound System Upgrades for a 98 XLT, Factory Non Premium/Mach Sound

Anticitizen1

Reaction score
City, State
Central Connecticut
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 Explorer 5.0 XLT
Hello everyone, I am relatively new to the world of audio electronics, so I am looking for some guidance from those more experienced. I did some searches on the forum and got some answers, but had some other questions. I have the stock 1998 sound equipment in my XLT, non premium or mach, without amp and sub-woofer. My goal is for better than stock, and near factory appearance, but probably not Top Shelf sound for budget constraints. Not looking for Pep Boys cheap factor, I can wait and buy good quality equipment, but I just don't know the difference in the minutia of audio electronics enough. So far my upgrade list looks like this:
  • Double Din Touchscreen Radio:Bluetooth, NOT navigation equipped, under $400 with capability for usb or hard drive music input.
  • 4x Door Speakers: I want to upgrade the factory 6x8" speakers to 6.5" rounds, as I have heard they present a better sound.
  • 2x or 4x Tweeters up high: I have seen forum members mounting these in the A and B pillars, and would like to do the same for a clean install with good sound. What is the consensus on directing towards your ears vs. the windshield?
  • A decent quality sub-woofer with appropriately powered amplifier to run it. The sub-woofer must fit in the factory location in the right rear quarter panel with the factory cover and I will probably mount the amplifier under the rear passenger seat.
So all in all, I am assuming a realistic budget ceiling of probably $1300, give or take. Any recommendations of placement, brands and technology, theory or methods are greatly appreciated. I am on near daily here, I will try to answer all questions quickly. Thanks for the help!