Squeaking noise from belts or pulleys... | Page 4 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Squeaking noise from belts or pulleys...

hi guys
this is my first post
im a professional mechanic for the phone company. this happened to me this week with my 04 xlt with 74000 miles suddenly. the pulley broke loose from the damper. it is junk.No odd noises or vibrations from the engine other than the slipping belt. ford does have special pulling and install tools, not cheap.
i used a steering wheel puller with the metric bollts . i loosened bolt then pressed off pulley slightly . i had to remove puller loosen bolt and then repull damper till it finally came off several times. install was fairly easy , tap on lining up key way then pulling in and torquing bolt
i replaced my harmonic balancer with one from dorman 594-111 and motorcraft crank sensor dy1061. they cost me 61.87 and 17.94 respectively.dorman makes the "help" or motormite brands you might see in parts stores. you definetly shouldn't run the truck like this, besides taking out the crank sensor, you could also damage the a/c hose too and end up in a no run position . you look like you have what they refer too as the "late build damper". the dorman one is the "early build".it is supposed to stop this problem as it reingeneered
it fit fine with no problem. it is listed as the replacement. since it does not have the cover piece it is easier to install too i found
the only hard part is to get the damn crank bolt loose!!!!!!! busted knuckes, few beers it came loose
i had to do this by hand with no air tools at home in the driveway, couldnt get it to the shop
hope this imformation helps as the pic above helped me diagnose my truck . i was pulling the hair out of my head trying to figure out what happened. thanks for the pic and the great imfo from all you guys
thanks phil

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.