Stock sub new head unit. | Ford Explorer - Ford Ranger Forums - Serious Explorations

  • Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

Stock sub new head unit.

craigallen5463

New Member
Joined
March 27, 2010
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
City, State
rumford, maine
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 explorer sport trac
Hello, I bought a new head unit which has all high level outputs for speaker but only RCA for the sub, I im waiting to save up for a nice sub and amp set. till then I was hoping I could connect my stock sub to my head unit but I do not know how to convert my 10 pin high level and to run off a low level RCA. any tip to wire this? Because its going to be somewhat temperary im not looking to spend much if any money. thank you.
 
<

Join the Elite Explorers $20 Gets rid of the ads!

Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




Sams01XplrSprt

Southern Cali Explorer
Joined
November 14, 2004
Messages
14,172
Reaction score
2
City, State
Newport Beach California & Bay Area California
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Sport (sold)
welcome craig
 
<



BrooklynBay

Moderator & long time member.
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
November 11, 2005
Messages
55,304
Reaction score
738
City, State
Brooklyn, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
88 89 93 95 96 Aerostars
<



steve7680768

New Member
Joined
April 21, 2010
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
City, State
new york
Year, Model & Trim Level
xli 02
Why the threads are moved from one place to another...
When we try to search it will easily found..
I don't think that is a need to change the location...
 
<



PandorasCustoms

Well-Known Member
Joined
March 11, 2010
Messages
231
Reaction score
0
City, State
Kissimmee, Fl
Year, Model & Trim Level
'94 Sport
<



kkreit01

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 14, 2002
Messages
453
Reaction score
1
City, State
Olathe, KS
Year, Model & Trim Level
'08 Sport Trac V8 2wd XLT
To the OP, check metraonline.com. I know they make a harness for the 2nd gen sport tracs. I've had it. You need to wire a resistor along with the remote-turn on, because there will be some "thump" when the factory amp turns on. It did work well.
 
<



vitori

New Member
Joined
April 29, 2010
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
City, State
firari
Year, Model & Trim Level
93 XLT
Got this reply from my recent post..

"The integrated part means the head unit only. So changing speakers would be easy. But adding amp might be difficult if you don't have RCA out. My brother got a civic and his stock head unit doesn't support RCA out too. So in the end he change the whole headunit. Although it doesn't look as nice because the centre console doesn't match the car interior anymore, but it sure sound much nicer now."
 
<



Top