Surging/Missfire Issue 99 V8 Explorer | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Surging/Missfire Issue 99 V8 Explorer

VW/FordGuy

Reaction score
City, State
Berks County Pennsylvannia
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 Ford Explorer V8
Hello all,

I got a 99 V8 explorer and for the past few months I have had a issue where the vehicle has a surge to it when in o/d with a slight load on the gas pedal. Also If I have to full throttle it during the entire rpm range it has a slight missfire. Now I am a mechanic so you can be technical if you have a explanation. I am not highly intelligent on the ford coil pack v8's though so bare with me. Now I will tell you what I have done so far. I replaced the plugs,fuel filter,wires about 4 months ago for a tune up. I replaced the cam sensor about a month ago. I just put a fuel pump in the truck literally 4 hours ago. (I had a new one from a customer that never showed so I used it). The one coil pack I noticed where the plug goes in is cracked and the plug wobbles even when its plugged in. But I have no issues when it rains. I also do not have a check engine light. So any help on this would be greatly appreciated. It seems from the surging I have been having and the missfire it seemed to wear out the outer transfer case bearing but I do not wanna tear that down and replace that until I fix this issue. I am also getting very poor gas mileage.

Thanks in advance

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

check the fuel pump pressure at the rail. should be about 60 lbs and hold when you shut off the ign.