The 97Sandbox | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

The 97Sandbox

Hey y'all! Thought I ought to get a thread going for my ride, the 97Sandbox. The nickname comes from the double mid prairie tan color scheme -- basic as can be, but hey, it hides dirt like none other. My dad bought the Explorer in 2006 from the original owner and I took ownership of the truck in 2017 (although I've been driving it since 2010). It came into our family while we were all living in Missouri, but I eventually took the '97 with me to Kansas and later to Wisconsin where it resides now.

I'll kick things off with a brief history of my infatuation with Explorers, then I'll run through what I've done so far, and I plan to keep posting as I continue to modify the vehicle.

Stock specs: 4.0 SOHC, 5R55E, RWD with the 3L73 rear end
20200917_124216.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

History
A history section? Really? Okay, okay, I’m sure most of us are quite familiar with the history of Explorers and Ranger-based vehicles in general. I’m talking about the history of my Explorer, essentially how it came to be and why I’m passionate about the truck.

The first Explorer I was graced to experience was a ‘93 black XLT 4x4 auto. It was my dad’s truck which he selected because it was the best non-mini van Ford vehicle he could find in 1996 when child #2 (my little sister) came into our family and he realized his short cab ‘88 F-150 wasn’t going to cut it as a family car. I have fond memories of childhood road trips in our ‘93 and will never forget when we used it to drag lumber around our farm before we bought a tractor.

1993.PNG