The Cage (My '92 Ex 4x4 project) | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

The Cage (My '92 Ex 4x4 project)

Hello My name is Gilbert (Gil) and I live in Orlando, Fl. I'm a biker, the fun friendly type not the crazy (some of my friends would disagree on this) and too scary looking to talk to type. I'm an electronics technician and computer nerd. I've worked on enough cars and bike to know that give me good directions and tools and I can take anything apart and usually put it back together so it works. Well enough about me and now to what everyone is more concerned about my Ex.
A little over a year ago a friend of mine was having tranny problems with her 92 Explorer 4x4. She didn't have the money to fix it and was just going to sell it to one of those "We buy junk cars" places. I told her that she would only get $250 or so for it and she said "It's more than what I have now". My bike is my sole source of transportation so I paid her $250 for it for a project. And when I'm done I'll have a new toy to play with, and having a cage (biker term for a car/truck) will come in handy at times. The body is in great shape except for a dent next to the drivers side headlight. It is going to need a paint job. No rust or bare metal just faded and the clear coat is gone in some places. The drivers side window is stuck down, there is a control module or something jammed between it and the frame, I just haven't spent that much time to get it out yet. And just so I don't get a :ttiwwp: here is a picture of her.
picture.php

You can see my Harley next to the :exp:.

Now for the plans for her. My New Years resolution was to get her on the road: