Timing and Jackshaft | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Timing and Jackshaft

thet0kra

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
98 XLT
Hey Guys.

I'm new to the Ford Explorer. Got it End of Jan... 1998 XLT with 56k on the clock. NICE =)

It is not working now :rolleyes:

I have a snapped Jackshaft bolt AND a snapped rear jackshaft sprocket.

Anyone have any experience with this/idea what might have caused this?

I don't want to go through the pain of having it repaired only to find it goes pop again for the very same reason let alone the struggle to get hold of a timing tool for it over here in the UK!

I scowered the forums looking for people talking about the timing and all have said get the tool/ check ebay... does anyone have any pictures or alignment info which would be of use to me?

I have been given the following gem but not sure how robust this info is....

"The way to time it is to ensure both the off centre cam shaft slits are level/flat with the head. With the engine at TDC both the cams need to have the off centre slot in the same position either up and level or down and level."

I know I am asking a lot of pretty vague questions here...but short of taking it to the main FORD dealer over here and paying what i guess will be over £2000 my local 'friendly trusted' garage needs a little assistance =)

Thanks.

Lee.. thet0kra..

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Hey Guys.

I'm new to the Ford Explorer. Got it End of Jan... 1998 XLT with 56k on the clock. NICE =)

It is not working now :rolleyes:

I have a snapped Jackshaft bolt AND a snapped rear jackshaft sprocket.

Anyone have any experience with this/idea what might have caused this?