To buy or not to buy, that is the question... | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

To buy or not to buy, that is the question...

bluexpy

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
Explorer-less
Totally out of blue, I saw a '94 maroon Explorer for sale while driving by a neighborhood. Welp, couldn't help myself.

Went to check it out and knocked on the door. Guy came out and showed me the :exporange and told me the key was in the ignition.

Keep in mind, this is my first time driving a first gen - when I climbed in it, it was small. I thought it'd be bigger. :confused: Much smaller than the Ford Bronco I used to have.

Engine sounds good, drives good. It still has some GO left at 142k.

It has the usual issues:

Passenger side radius arm rubber is loose (I can move it with my hand) but hasn't ovaled out and is still in the factory position (also didn't get any clunking when stopping) the left was just as bad, but the rubber didn't move.

Checked underneath, it was totally rust free. Including the rockers. The undercoating was beginning to peel off, though. The paint needs some elbow grease, but mostly still good. I found evidence of overspray so it may have been repainted in the past.

It has the manual trans. When I drove it, the shifter was buzzing loudly whenever I touch the knob. I didn't have any problems shifting between 1 & 2 at all. Is this a sign of it needs a rebuilding?? I know they aren't strong...

I did note the gauges were erractic. The gas gauge doesn't seem to funciton (reads empty no matter what, didn't move) whenever I turn on the key, the volt gauges start dancing from end to end then reads the voltage. :eek:

The gray interior was dingy, but seems good for 142k. Normal wear and tear.