• Register Today It's free!

Towing hitch help

Sandman73

Reaction score
City, State
Wasilla,AK
Year, Model & Trim Level
1991 Explorer XLT
ok everyone i have a 2003 Mounty, we are moving from Washington to Iowa and i need to tow a small trailer, the mounty has the hitch that is built into the bumber. i need to know is that concidered a class 1 hitch or what??? i got the v6 and i have to go through the mountains is it going to be able to safley tow a trailer like from uhual??? I am new to having this Mounty so please help....

thanks...

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Isnt that a class 2? Check your owner's manual -- all the info should be there.

First, no U Haul :) They won't let you.

Second, what size is the mounting hitch? Measure or approximate the size of the square hole and we can figure from there...

First, no U Haul :) They won't let you.

Second, what size is the mounting hitch? Measure or approximate the size of the square hole and we can figure from there...

I don't have any info on the hitch you have, but I think he could go to u-haul if he wanted to because he has a mountaineer; it's explorers that aren't allowed. But regardless, i'd stay away from u-haul because of their problems with maintaining equipment, falsely authorizing that equipment has safely been inspected before renting out, and hearing the stories of people being seriously injured from equipment mishaps and failures.

My 2005 had a sticker right on the hitch that said class III/IV

No Mounties either... they don't like us