• Register Today It's free!

Towing Question

Wsucougar

Reaction score
City, State
Battle Ground, WA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2006 Explorer Eddie Bauer
I may be purchasing a 2006 Eddie Bauer with a V8 with 60k miles (grandmas car to drive to church and home). It doesn’t have the tow package, but I’m looking at the possibility of adding a class 3 hitch, brake controller and possible trans cooler if it’s not equipped. We have a Winnebago Micro Minnie 2100bh with a dry weight of 3800lbs and a max weight of 5000lbs. We currently tow it with our 2020 Subaru Ascent, which does just fine towing it. I really want to find out if towing this trailer with my grandmas explorer, and if anyone has a similar model that they are towing with. Thanks!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I’ve been towing my 3,500 pound camper for 15 years with my 2006 V6 without the tow package. Just hit 165,000 miles still on original transmission

I’ve been towing my 3,500 pound camper for 15 years with my 2006 V6 without the tow package. Just hit 165,000 miles still on original transmission
That is impressive with the way everyone is always ragging on that transmission.

That is impressive with the way everyone is always ragging on that transmission.
There are always a few outliers that live beyond expectations. All one has to do to know why the reputation is deserved is scan back in the 3rd and 4th gen forums for 5R55 transmission issues. They will find post after post of people who come here with 5R55 transmissions problems only to find the transmission needs replaced. The 5R55 transmissions are not well designed. It doesn't help that Ford recommends the first service for them at 150k miles. It should be 30k for the first one and no longer than 60k thereafter. Ideally it should be every 40k-50k miles, IMO.