Transmission Crossmember Redesign Questions | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Transmission Crossmember Redesign Questions

01STrunner

Elite Explorer
Moderator Emeritus
Reaction score
City, State
Greer, SC
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 SAS'd Sport Trac
Due to my SAS and having a LP front axle I need to make a new transmission crossmember. I want to have dual 2" tube with a plate in the middle that bolts to the transmission. Problem is the tube bender is limited to 1/8" wall thickness. Would it be better to go with say dual 2x2 square with a 3/16" wall and use mitered corners instead or maybe several angles to get a "bend"?

This is sort of what I'm going for. And any ideas or criticisms are welcome. I'm just getting into fab work so not the brightest in this area.

IsoView_zps15d9006f.jpg

RevIsoView_zps2e797089.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Maybe my phone but your pics aren't showing up anymore

Thanks JD. I think I have them fixed now.

1/8" is fine. If it is going to hang low I would use some 3/16"-1/4" steel that attaches to it for a skid plate.

Also 2" tubing is huge for a transmission cross member. First, using a 2" die to bend it will have a large radius and I don't think you will have the room between the frame rails to make what you have drawn up once you account for the die radius. 1.5" tubing would be adequate.

My transmission cross member is made from 1/8" plate - http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2675183&postcount=2

I really like your design. It's a lot simpler and looks easier to make than mine. Right now in SW I have it as 1.5" tubing. How do you like the bushings in the ends vs welding it to the frame?