Um...is this safe?? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Um...is this safe??

I am getting a set of 2000 Cobra R 18"x9.5" rims. They look great and I now just need a tire to match them. I have chosen Toyo Proxes S/T to do the job, but I have also chosen their size. Specifically, 255/55R18. Will these tires fit these rims properly?? Are there any issues that will have to be dealt with???

Basically, is this size of tire alright for my 18"x9.5" rim?? Thanks guys...

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Should be fine, but you will probably have a bit of rubbing at full lock, but that's no big deal.

you will be fine. trust me, i BUILD tires for a living. if you were going with a more "low profile" 255, like a 255/40/18, or whatever, then there MAY be a problem. it all has to do with what kind of angle it puts on the bead. a taller 255, like the 255/55/18's you have chosen, will have much less of an angle on the bead when they get "stretched out" on a 9.5 inch wheel. most tire shops wont mount a tire that would be "stretched" so far as to put the bead angle out of wack. if you would like me to go into further technical detail on what problems this would cause, i can, but i can assure you that you have nothing to worry about. im sorry if i got you worried about nothing in my last post. i did not mean less than ideal to mean "unsafe". there are certain ranges in tire sizes that work "ideally" on certain width wheels. like a 255-345 width would work on a 9.5 inch wide wheel. all i meant was 255 would be a little on the narrow side. NOT that a 255 would be a little unsafe... sorry about the confusion.