Upgrading 3rd gen MACH system - questions | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Upgrading 3rd gen MACH system - questions

Mathematics

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2003 Mounty
First - have been lurking around here forever, tons of reading & useful info I've put to use on my mountaineer, so thanks for the resource here.

I'm a newb to car audio but have been upgrading the factory audio system, so far have completely sound deadened the doors & floor (fatmat, CCF, MLV), installed Infinity 8602's in all 4 doors, replaced the factory 8" sub with the shallow mount Pioneer 8", and also dynomatted the factory sub enclosure to try to stiffen it up a bit (thanks to JoeDirt & jrford's threads here for guidance on messing with the factory sub/enclosure).

Next time I'm home I'll also be installing a Pioneer 2400BT headunit and Kenwood XR-5S 5-channel amp to power the door speakers & sub.

The xr-5s puts out 350w RMS for the sub channel, so upgrading the sub to a 10" is now also on my list. I am set on retaining the factory look, so the sub/enclosure needs to fit behind the trim still. I'm looking at either another shallow mount sub and modding the factory sub enclosure to fit, or building a new sub box all together to try to make use of the space the factory amp takes up.

Any suggestions for a shallow 10" sub that can make use of all 350w? I was happy with the Pioneer 8" shallow mount, so looking at the 10" big brother...Is there a higher quality shallow mount sub someplace? Also, if I went the path of building a custom box with 3/4" MDF, could I fit a sub with a 5" mounting depth (Looking at Polk mm1040)? I've searched and found enclosure plans for 2nd gen but nothing for 3rd gen on here.