V-8 tick sounds

01EB5.0

Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
Allendale, MI
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Eddie Bauer V-8 AWD
I'm new to the V-8 Explorer scene, but i have a question for you 5.0 owners.
My 5.0 has a slight lifter tick noise upon acceleration. it's pretty quiet, but if you listen you can hear it. Plus under heavy acceleration you get a vibrating sound around 3,000 RPM. i test drove a 96 5.0 Explorer in the spring and it had the same lifter tick noise, except lot louder. My engine has 42,000 and the one I test drove had 78,000. Any info would be helpful.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Mine has it too, and so did my uncles, but he had his fixed at the ford dealer, its like the exhaust tube from the manifold to the collector pipe, and it develops a leak, Its not a cheap fix from what I hear?? He said it cost him like 500 dollars or more, I will just get headers if its that much...:)

i have extended warentee until 100,000....hopefully it's covered....if they can even hear the problem

let me guess-it's coming from the passenger side. yup, stock header leak. for some reason they (5.0) all do it. got a pair of FMS headers in the garage that will fix mine.

you think it;s worth me sending it in for repair for that sound? I'd have to pay $50 deductable.....

I think it's worth it because the leak may get worse and cause some drivability problems.

....I wonder if they would just put on a set of FMS headers for me instead of sticking a replacement part on that may have the same leak issue....hmmmm...lol

i think its gonna be worth it just to shut up my D*dge freak neighbor. "Hey, sounds like you need to check the oil on that thing!" to which i reply "Hey, its August. Dont you usually get a new tranny every August?":D