V8 engine and suspension upgrades for towing? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

V8 engine and suspension upgrades for towing?

Matt M.

Reaction score
I just purchased a 1997 Mountaineer. I am currently addressing a few basic maintenance issues, but my focus will soon shift to upgrades. I am planning to use it to tow my BMW M3 to open track events starting in the spring. The BMW with tools, spares, etc loaded onto the the steel open trailer (with electric brakes) is about 6000lbs.

I have spent a lot of time searching the archives of this forum to get an idea of where my Mountie could use some upgrades to improve its ability to tow that much weight. I am not new to towing (have Tekonsha Prodigy brake controller and anti-sway load leveling hitch), but I am new to the venerable Ford 302.

Here is a brief summary of what I have learned. If you can comment on any of these items, I would really appreciate it!

Engine:
  • Intake - any favored brand in particular? Is there any reason I should not just fabricate my own tube and add on a filter?
  • Exhaust - I will spend hours and hours on the highway with this rig, crusing to far away race tracks. I am desperate to avoid a loud droning exhaust. Is Gibson still considered the quietest? I am concerned that the gains in power will be minimal compared to a dual system. In terms of looks and tone, I would love to use a dual, if only someone could show me a quiet enough system!
  • Superchips programmer (I thought this was a good choice because it has towing specific fuel maps and can adjust shift points. Please tell me if other programmers or chips are preferable)
  • E-303 cam with 1.6 rockers (Based on my reading, this appears to be the torquiest cam for my application. Does that sound right? I have other fast cars, so I am not looking for speed, just grunt)
  • Watch carefully for a used set of FMS headers