Valve rattling under load in 99 explorer 5.0ltr. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Valve rattling under load in 99 explorer 5.0ltr.

Jon Leone

Reaction score
City, State
NORTH LAS VEGAS
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 explorer xlt, 5.0 v8
Hello all. Lately I've been having a problem with the valves rattling in my 99 Ford Explorer 5.0 L V8 all wheel drive truck. under normal idle conditions the rattling is not there, however once in drive and moving down the road upon giving the vehicle gas somewhere around 2000 to 3000 RPMs the valves start rattling like the engine is full of marbles. does anyone have this issue or know how to fix this problem. I am at a loss as to what to do. I'm afraid to drive the truck as I'm afraid it might blow up or cause damage. any help would be greatly appreciated as im only a shade tree mechanic.truck has 125,000 miles. Thanks.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I'd pull the upper intake and take off the valve covers and have a look. If it is the valves and not the lifters you might find a broken rocker or spring.

Are you sure it's you valves making noise? It might be pre-ignition? Try using a tank of premium fuel and see if the noise goes away.

I'd start by cleaning mass air flow sensor as I've seen this cause the marbles sound a few times.

Any codes?

Thanks guys. I'll give your suggestions a try next time I get a chance. I don't think I have anything broken in the valve train as she purrs like a kitten while in park and at idol. I have ran up the rpms while in this state and no rattling sounds at all. It's only under load when I hit the gas. Again thank and I'll post an update.