• Register Today It's free!

Vehicle Dilemma - need opinions

bryris

Reaction score
City, State
Lakeland, FL
Year, Model & Trim Level
2006 Ford Explorer
My first vehicle was a 93 Jeep Cherokee at 16 years old. Drove it for about 5.5 years...took it from 106k to 189k and sold it for a Nissan Sentra. This was meant to be a money saving measure and to have something reliable to drive through the rest of college etc. Once I graduated and got married, I had a bit more money flowing and just couldn't shake the Jeep thing. So, I bought a second vehicle, but decided to go with a 1995 YJ Wrangler Sahara. I shopped around and found a gem. This was 8 months after I got married and I was 24 at the time. I am now 31 and divorced!!

It was never my primary vehicle. It sat in the garage and I drive it only on the weekends, etc. I kept driving the Sentra for the daily driving and I babied the Jeep.

Fast forward about 6 years and I got a serious crawl for a boat. So, I bought a boat. It is a 15 foot boat, but is full lined fiberglass, 4 stroke motor, and is actually fairly heavy. It is probably right at or slightly above the tow rating of the Jeep. I used the Jeep to pull the boat successfully, but it didn't like long trips and it pinged a little bit. I could tell it was struggling to handle the boat and being a manual transmission, it was a bit more involved to get the boat out of the water.

So, I made the decision to get an SUV or a truck to replace the Sentra and something that was more becoming of my size (6' 4") and more importantly something that would pull the boat easily.